Southwest MEP's

Members of the European Parliament for the South-West

On Thursday 10 June 1999, a unique event took place across the United Kingdom. Voters across the whole country elected Members of the European Parliament by proportional representation.
European elections held in Britain have traditionally been carried out using the first past the post voting system.

The United Kingdom has been split into 12 electoral regions and each region has a number of seats allocated to it.  Torridge District Council is within the South West Region and we have 7 seats. 

For more information and to view the 7 Members for the South West Region select the following link : Southwest MEP's.

How do People get elected?

The number of votes for each Political Party and Individual Candidates is added up across the Region by the Regional Returning Officer who then works out the number of seats each Party should get and whether any Individual Candidate is elected. The way this is worked out is called the d'Hondt method (named after its Belgian inventor). It is the most widely used system of proportional representation in the world.

The number of valid votes cast for each Party and Individual Candidate is divided by the number of seats allocated + 1.

The party with the highest number of regional valid votes gains the first seat there total is then divided by 2 (1 seat allocated +1). This is then repeated for the remaining regional seats.

A copy of the result of the election can be found below.

To view a map of the European Parliament area please click on the link opposite.